Five Awesome Regency Audiobooks

  1. PiratesPirates and Prejudice by Kara Louise, narrated by Tiffany Halla Colonna
    How I listened: Audible app – purchase

Those of you who read this blog regularly know that I have interviewed Kara before and am a big fan. I’ve also reviewed this book, and adored it. For those of you looking for some good audio material, listen to Kara’s audiobook. Tiffany has a calm, but intriguing voice that will truly bring the book alive. Although she is a woman and does all the voices in the book (even the men), she has a great grasp of accents and it’s quite enjoyable. The tale is one of my favorite Jane Austen variations and is not to be missed.

  1. Dawn of the Dreadfuls by Steve Hockensmith, narrated by Katherine Kellgren
    How I listened: CD / in the car – purchase

dodWhen Pride and Prejudice and Zombies came out, I was somewhat disappointed after reading. I have high hopes for the movie, but the book just left me with a shrug. However, reading and then listening to Steve Hockensmith’s prequel brought a glimmer of hope into my heart. This is what a Regency zombie story should be like. Mostly a comedy, I found the characters we know true to themselves and the characters we don’t know ingenious and fun to read. I loved this book so much, I read it, listened to it, loaned it to a friend and listened again after it was returned. In fact…writing this now, I feel the need to give it another listen.

  1. Trapping a Duchess by Michele Bekemeyer, narrated by the author
    How I listened: Podiobooks.com / iTunes – free podnovel

trappI’ve a soft place in my podcaster heart for authors that read their own work. Not only is Michele’s book great, she brings it to life as only an author can. Her characters are inventive and fun to follow. The story is enjoyable and for those of you looking for something a little naughty, this book will deliver. Michele’s voice is calming and at the same time exciting. This is the best free Regency novel audio you’ll hear.

  1. Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters by Ben H. Winters, narrated by Katherine Kellgren
    How I listened: CD / in the car – purchase

sssI did not read this book before I listened to the audio, so I cannot say how the book is, but the audio transported me into a world I frankly didn’t think I’d like. Picturing Colonel Brandon as a Cthulhu monster was at first disturbing, but Ben brought him through in true Jane Austen style, making the reader care for him as no normal man would deserve. The world in which this book is set is thrilling and new. The narrator, Katherine, does another great job of making you forget that there even is a narrator. She has the special talent of making you feel as if the book and characters are telling the story instead of someone behind the mic.

  1. Jane Austen – various titles
    How I listened: via Librivox.com app – free audio site

libriWith 40 recordings available including several versions of all Jane’s great works as well as the lesser known works such as Lady Susan and Love and Friendship, Librivox can’t be counted out when wanting to hear the classics. The audios are all volunteer recorded, so yes, they may not be as clean or produced as well as those you pay for, but I find them refreshing and readily available at no cost. Libribox was founded in 2005 by Hugh McGuire to provide free audio books that are in the public domain. For those of you looking for older, obscure works that might not be available on Amazon or maybe you just want to try out an older book out that you aren’t sure you want to buy, this site is for you.

Have you listened to a Jane-inspired or Regency period audiobook recently that you enjoyed? Comment below so we can all share in the enjoyment of it!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

